Discount Insurance Quotes in Virginia – VA
It’s a Tort State
According to the tort laws of Virginia, if anyone causes a collision, that driver must take financial responsibility for it. As the at-fault drivers, they will be required to pay any medical bills their victims incur, and they must do this with a bodily injury liability insurance policy. If property damages result, they must pay for these as well with property damage liability coverage.
The Uninsured Motor Vehicle (UMV) Fee
The state of Virginia gives its drivers a choice if they meet certain criteria. They may pay a $500 fee to become legally uninsured drivers. This means they do not have to purchase insurance but they will still need to follow the tort laws of the state. Motorists who cause a collision on Virginia’s roads will pay the medical bills, funeral expenses and repair bills for property, even if they are legally allowed to drive uninsured.
Virginia’s Insurance Requirements
It can be costly to drive uninsured, so Virginia drivers often choose to purchase insurance coverage to pay for the damages they cause when they are found to be liable in a car collision. To help people meet these expenses, Virginia has set a minimum amount of insurance coverage that its drivers must have for bodily injuries and property damages.
Each policy includes at least $25,000 to cover one person’s medical bills. If more than one person is hurt, the maximum they can receive will be $50,000. Those whose property is damaged will receive at least $20,000 to cover repair bills. Virginia drivers must also have insurance coverage against an uninsured or underinsured driver that will apply toward medical bills in the same amount as the liability coverage; they must have uninsured and underinsured coverage for property damages as well.
Covering a Rental Car
It does not matter that Virginia drivers do not own the car they are driving, they will be required to have insurance coverage on it if they are taking it on Virginia’s roads. Drivers have three ways of providing auto insurance for a rental vehicle. One is with their personal auto insurance policies and the other is through their credit card issuers. If their auto insurance policies do not provide coverage for a rental car and their credit cards’ policies are inadequate, they can purchase an inexpensive policy with the rental car dealership.
Not everyone living at the same address is a good driver. In Virginia, people do not have to have a person on their policies who has a questionable driving history. Every driver’s record would need to be considered before the rates are set and those with bad records would drive the prices up. The laws also allow insurance companies to exclude the times when they will not be responsible for honoring a claim but these must be stated clearly in the contract.
After people have registered their vehicles and demonstrated that they have purchased auto insurance for the vehicle, they must maintain this coverage continuously in Virginia. If they do not and they do not plan to purchase another policy, they must give up their license plates to the DMV. If they can qualify to drive uninsured, they will need to apply and pay the fee to do so.
Insurance companies in Virginia may use applicants’ credit scores for several purposes. For example, if an insurance company determines that an applicant has a low credit score, it can decline to sell optional policies such as collision and comprehensive coverage to this particular person. The company would also be able to charge a higher rate to those who have low credit scores.
Driving uninsured may seem tempting because Virginia drivers would be able to save hundreds of dollars every year by not purchasing auto insurance, but the consequences would be too devastating if they were to cause a collision. Rather than risk it, obtain discount insurance quotes in Virginia today.