Discount Insurance Quotes in Utah – UT
In a no-fault state, each driver will be responsible for taking care of their own and their passengers’ medical bills up to a certain limit. Lawsuits due to bodily injuries will be restricted. Utah follows the no-fault system, and this means that it does not matter who caused the accident; drivers go to their own auto insurance companies for payment of the medical bills.
The Necessity of Insurance in Utah
Drivers in Utah must have auto insurance. This includes liability coverage that will allow them to take financial responsibility when they are the cause of the collision and Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance for their and their passengers’ injuries that pays medical expenses no matter who caused the accident. Utah drivers will need to have this coverage in place or else they will be subject to Utah’s penalties.
Those who are discovered to be driving without auto insurance will have a Class B misdemeanor on their records. The DMV may suspend their licenses and their vehicles’ registrations, and they will be required to pay a reinstatement fee along with the $400 fee they were required to pay on a first offense. A second offense within three years gives them a $1,000 fine.
Utah’s Auto Insurance Requirements
In order to avoid the very serious penalties that Utah has for those who are caught driving without insurance, people need to purchase liability coverage. The bodily injury liability needs to be at least $25,000 to cover one person’s medical bills and $50,000 to cover everyone injured in the collision. The property damage liability will need to have at least a $15,000 limit to cover all property damages. PIP insurance must be in the amount of $3,000 at a minimum.
Sometimes, people lose their insurance coverage before the policy has a chance to expire. Both the auto insurance company and the policyholder are allowed to cancel a policy before it expires. If an insurance company deems it necessary to cancel a policyholder’s coverage within a two-month period, it can be for any reason.
After the two-month period has passed and an auto insurance company cancels a policy, it will, most likely, be because the company discovered the applicant lied on the application. Another commonly stated reason is that the policyholder allows for the cancellation by not paying the premiums. Whatever the reason, policyholders are entitled to receive advanced notice so that they can find alternative coverage.
An insurance company and a policyholder can also decide not to renew the policy. This would mean that Utah drivers would have coverage until their policies expire but that they would need to find a new auto insurance company. They will receive notice of this fact at least 30 days before the expiration date.
Who Is a High Risk in Utah?
In order to determine how much they will charge applicants for their coverage, insurance companies in Utah will first place people into a risk category. Those who make it into the high risk category are the ones who will pay the highest rates. Several people can be considered to be high risk when they are driving on the roads because they are perceived to be a danger either to themselves or others on the roads for one reason or another.
Some of the reasons that people will be high risks are because:
• They are inexperienced
• They are dangerous drivers
• They have been arrested for DUI or DWI or reckless driving charges
• They have been involved in several car collisions in a short period of time
• Their health conditions make driving more difficult
Currently, the lowest risks and therefore, entitled to the lowest rates are middle aged women who do not smoke. Those who will be immediately assigned to the highest risk and requiring the highest rates are unmarried males under the age of 25. No matter who they are, Utah drivers will need to seek discount insurance quotes in Utah to find the absolute best rates for them.