Discount Insurance Quotes in Texas – TX
Anyone who plans to register a vehicle in Texas will need to purchase auto insurance for it first. By requiring that Texas drivers have at least liability insurance coverage, the authorities are ensuring that those injured in a car collision caused by another person will receive payment from these at-fault drivers’ insurance companies for their medical bills and to have their vehicles repaired. As Texas is a tort state, this reduces the need for the injured to sue the at-fault drivers in court.
Bodily Injury Liability for One Person
In Texas, each driver must purchase liability insurance for bodily injuries. If one person files a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company, the policy will be able to supply at least $30,000 for this person’s medical bills if the policyholder purchased this coverage in the limited amount required by the state. The policyholder also could have purchased a higher limit that would cover more of the bills if they were to surpass $30,000.
Bodily Injury Liability for the Entire Collision
Liability packages limit the amount of money the insurance companies will be responsible for paying for one accident. In Texas, the limit for the entire accident is $60,000. This means that if five people are hurt in the crash and they all file a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company for payment of their medical bills, the insurance company will only be required to pay these bills in the amount of $60,000. Texas drivers may raise this limit if they believe it will be beneficial to do so.
Property Damage Liability for the Entire Collision
The last type of liability coverage Texas drivers must purchase is to cover all property damaged in the accident. The property covered would be other vehicles, city property or even buildings if they are damaged in the collision. Those with damaged property will file a claim with the at-fault driver’s company that will be responsible for paying these claims in the amount of at least $25,000 unless the policyholder raised the limit.
The Consequences of Driving Uninsured
Even though Texas laws require that people purchase auto insurance before they drive their vehicles on the roads, Texas estimates that as much as 20 percent of the driving population is driving uninsured. To discourage this practice, Texas has penalties in place for those who decide not to follow its auto insurance laws. The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will promptly suspend these people’s licenses and their registrations when it discovers a driver is uninsured.
The TexaSure Program
The state of Texas has more than one way that it learns when a driver is uninsured. The first is when a law enforcement officer stops a motorist, asks for proof of insurance and the driver cannot provide it. Another way is through the TexaSure program.
Insurance companies send information on their clients’ insurance coverage to TexaSure. If the company cancels or does not renew the coverage or the client cancels or stops paying for the coverage, the company reports this to TexaSure electronically. The DMV has direct access to this information and will ask these drivers to prove that they are insured. If they cannot, the suspensions will go into effect.
The Pain of Having a Vehicle Impounded
Those who are persistent in refusing to purchase auto insurance in Texas and receive a second citation for it will, most likely, see their vehicles impounded for six months. They will also be required to pay for this impounding at a rate of $15 a day. If the vehicle is impounded for the entire six months, the owners will have a hefty bill of $2,700 to pay at the end of this time.
Texas drivers can have their driving privileges reinstated by purchasing the required auto insurance coverage and paying the reinstatement fees. Before they do this, they can obtain discount insurance quotes in Texas to find reasonable rates that will keep them out of the trouble described here.