Discount Insurance Quotes in Tennessee – TN
In Tennessee, drivers are required by law to carry a specific amount of liability insurance. While drivers don’t have to provide proof of insurance when they register their vehicle with the State of Tennessee registration department, drivers must show proof of insurance on demand while operating their vehicle.
If a driver is pulled over, or is in a car accident, and proof of insurance isn’t produced, the fine is $100. This fine applies even if the driver already has insurance and forgets to put the proof of insurance in his or her vehicle. If the driver doesn’t have insurance at all, which proof must be provided at the time the ticket is paid, then the driver will face a suspension of their driver’s license as well as the fine.
All drivers in Tennessee must maintain the following minimum liability coverage
- $25,000 liability for a single person injured in an accident
- $50,000 liability for multiple people injured in an accident
- $15,000 liability for all property damaged in an accident
Tennessee is a Tort state. What this means is that if an accident occurs, the police will investigate the accident to determine who is at fault in the accident. That person will receive a traffic ticket and be responsible for all damages caused by the accident. If the cost of the accident exceeds the amount of liability insurance owned by the person responsible for the accident, then he or she will have to pay the difference out of pocket.
Because the expense of an accident can well exceed the state minimum requirements for insurance, insurance professionals recommended that drivers carry at least twice the required amount of liability insurance. This protection ensures that a serious accident doesn’t lead to bankruptcy for the person who caused the accident.
In Tennessee, the average cost of insurance for all insured drivers in the state is $962 a year. This is not the average cost of the minimum liability only coverage, but an average of all insured people in Tennessee. The average cost for liability coverage only is about $630 a year.
The cost of car insurance can be lower or higher depending on a number of factors. For example, a teenage driver in Tennessee can pay double or triple the average amount, depending on the insurance company he or she chooses. A driver who has had a DUI, after spending up to a year in jail, can also expect their rates to double or triple.
If a driver is married, has gone to college, owns a house, is over 25 and owns a safe vehicle, then he or she can expect to pay the lowest rates, providing that there is also a good driving record in tact. A single male under the age of 25 will pay more than a single male over the age of 25, even if they live in the same community, go to work at the same location and drive the same amount of miles.
It’s for this reason that it’s important that all drivers get multiple quotes prior to choosing their car insurance. Quote tools provide drivers with several quotes from reputable insurance companies that can be compared side by side.
It is recommended that drivers get insurance quotes at least one a year to ensure that they continue to get the lowest rates. If a driver chooses to leave their current insurance company because they can get a lower price elsewhere, they must ensure that their old policy doesn’t lapse before the new policy is in place. A vehicle must be covered by car insurance at all times.