Discount Insurance Quotes In New Jersey – NJ
New Jersey discount insurance quotes for auto insurance can be obtained easier if you know about the state laws. There is a minimum liability coverage required in the state. Further, you are required to show proof of insurance at all times when you are in the vehicle. You can look for affordable quotes online, making it easier to stay compliant with the state laws.
If you are found without auto insurance, you could face a number of penalties. The severity of the penalty will have to do with whether it is a first offense or not. Fines can range from $300 to $1,000. Community service may also be court ordered and a one year suspension of your driver’s license can occur.
You will be required to have PIP, which is personal injury protection. Regardless of whether you have health insurance, this is required, stating that your insurance company will cover any injuries that you sustain n an accident.
You will also be required to have uninsured motorist coverage. New Jersey is a no-fault state, which means one driver will not have to be named as the one who caused the accident. While this is often advantageous to you, it still is in your best interest to get the most protection as possible. If you are involved in an accident with a driver who is not insured, this coverage will help you to get reimbursed faster.
The state of New Jersey imposes minimum liability coverage levels. This is listed in the standard format of 15/30/5. Broken down to simpler terms, it means you need to have $15,000 of bodily injury coverage for a single person in the vehicle. You need to have $30,000 of bodily injury for all people in the vehicle. You will also need $5,000 of coverage for damages to property.
New Jersey has some of the lowest liability coverage requirements. While this helps to make your monthly premium more affordable, it doesn’t do much for offering you substantial protection. In the event you cause $25,000 worth of property damage, your policy would only cover $5,000. This is not a lot of money. The other $20,000 would be your responsibility.
It is in your best interest to consider increasing your liability limits to higher amounts. You can base this on the average cost of accidents, your likelihood to be involved in an accident or past experience with insurance claims. Either way, you can make comparisons online to see what your premium would increase to when you increase the limits.
Additional items can be added to your insurance policy as well. This may have to do with preference and it may also have to do with the lienholder’s requirements if you have an auto loan. Such things include comprehensive coverage, auto rental coverage and much more. You can explore each of these to see what the impact will be on your monthly insurance premium.
Dozens of insurance companies offer quotes in New Jersey. The moment you enter your ZIP code, it will tell the companies that you are in New Jersey and must therefore comply with the state minimums for liability. The ZIP code will also tell the company whether you are urban, suburban or rural as well as where you are located in terms of looking at past accidents in the area.
In addition to your location, the type of car you drive will impact the discount insurance quotes in the state. The safer the car, the cheaper your auto insurance will be. Make sure to include all safety features that are installed on your vehicle to get the lowest possible quote.
Comparisons online make it easy to get discount quotes in New Jersey. You can find a number of quotes on a single website. This side by side comparison view makes it easy to discover what your options are. Within minutes, you can find an affordable auto insurance premium.