Cheap Car Insurance Quotes Montana – MT
Discount insurance quotes in Montana rely heavily on the state laws. It is mandatory for all drivers to carry proof of insurance at all times while in a vehicle. Should you be involved in an accident or pulled over for another infraction, you will be required to show your insurance card. If you are unable to provide such, you may face fines. Also, you must maintain a minimum liability coverage for the auto insurance.
For the first offense of failure to show proof of insurance, the state of Montana has a variety of penalties. A fine could be charged, ranging in amount from $250 to $500. If a fine is not charged, then you may serve no more than 10 days in jail. After the first offense, the fines and time in jail will increase significantly.
When you shop for an auto insurance policy, you will be required to get minimum liability coverage. Montana state requires you to hold 25/50/10. This format is commonly seen on insurance websites. The first number is bodily injury for a single person, the 2nd number is bodily injury for everyone in the car and the third number is property damage.
So, for the state of Montana, you will need auto insurance that meets the minimum liability requirements. You will need $25,000 and $50,000 for the bodily injury and another $10,000 for damage to property of any kind.
The minimums are just that – minimums. You have the option of getting more than the minimum amount. Considering that Montana is a tort state, this is typically in your best interest. A tort state means that one person will be found at-fault for the accident. That person is then responsible for property damages and medical bills for all other parties involved in the accident.
If you are found at-fault, this could cost you a considerable amount of money. If the total property damage ends up being $30,000, your insurance would cover up to what your policy states. If you go with the state minimums, the insurance company would cover $10,000. The other $20,000 would become your financial responsibility.
The best protection you can get is having more liability coverage. This way you can avoid being held responsible for additional funds due to an accident. The higher the coverage, the more your premium will be. This makes it necessary to look for as many discount insurance quotes as possible to keep your premium affordable.
The state of Montana does not require uninsured motorist coverage. This fact will save you some money on your auto insurance. However, for added protection, you may want to consider adding it. While you are getting car insurance quotes, it can take a few more minutes to add the coverage and see what the cost difference is on a monthly basis.
It’s imperative that you spend some time doing quote comparisons. There are hundreds of companies that offer auto insurance to Montana residents. It can be difficult to determine who has the best deal at first glance. As a result, it’s best if you spend some time getting quotes from a few different insurance companies.
Your ZIP code will indicate what state you are in as well as where you are located within the state. Rural, suburban and urban areas all play an important role in the cost of your auto insurance. Further, if there are a large number of accidents in the area on an annual basis, it can drive the cost of your premium higher as well, even if you are a safe driver.
Discounts may be offered for being a homeowner, having multiple cars on the policy, being a safe driver and much more. By making some comparisons online, you can see which companies have the best deals for your individual situation. After making a few comparisons, it will be easier to see who has the best monthly premium for you to get for your Montana auto insurance.