Cheap Car Insurance Quotes Mississippi – MS
Finding auto insurance in Mississippi is all about understanding the requirements by law. In the event that you are pulled over or involved in an accident, you will be required to show proof of insurance. If you are found operating a vehicle without the insurance, then you could experience a number of penalties from the state.
Penalties for not having auto insurance can increase based on the number of offenses. There is typically a $500 fine as well as license and registration penalty for the first offense of not having auto insurance.
When you shop for discount insurance quotes, it’s important to know what you are looking for. The state requires you to carry minimum liability coverage. For Mississippi, this includes $25,000 for single-person bodily injury and $50,000 for all bodily injuries in the vehicle. You will also need at least $25,000 for damages to property.
You have the right to purchase auto insurance that provides more than the minimum liability coverage. In the event that you are involved in an accident, you may wish to have more coverage to avoid being out of pocket. Shopping for the best discounts then becomes essential to keep your auto insurance premiums affordable from month to month.
Mississippi is a tort state. What this means is that one person in the accident will be found at fault. That person’s insurance is then responsible for covering all medical expenses as well as property damages. If you are the one found at fault for the accident, you may wish to have a higher level of coverage for the liabilities.
The 25/50/25 structure is the minimums for your liability. When you are shopping insurance, this is commonly the format you will see. However, if you choose to increase any of the levels, the format will be the same. If you feel that the $25,000 for property damage is too low, then you may wish to double it. At this point, the new format would become 25/50/50.
Uninsured motorist coverage is not required in the state of Mississippi. However, with the state having tort law, it can be in your best interest to opt for this coverage. While it is an added expense, it will offer you more protection. By getting quotes online, you can shop around to see where you can get the coverage you need at the lowest possible price.
Over a hundred different insurance companies operate within Mississippi. When you shop for your insurance, you will need to put your ZIP code in. This will automatically tell the insurance company what the minimum liability coverage is that it can offer you. It will also provide you with quotes based upon where you live. Urban areas will be more expensive than rural areas. Further, areas that have a high reported accident rate will cause the insurance quotes to be higher as well.
It’s imperative that you spend time making some comparisons between several of the auto insurance companies. Each of the companies calculates the cost of insurance a little differently. Further, many offer unique discounts.
Some of the discounts you can look forward to with car insurance can save you a substantial amount of money. You will almost always get multicar discounts. This is a company’s way of rewarding you for getting multiple cars insured from one company. You may also be able to get discounts for being a good student, a homeowner or being married. Some of the other discounts you can be on the lookout for include being a safe driver, being with a particular insurance company for a specific period of time and much more.
Cost comparisons are absolutely a necessity when you’re looking for discount insurance quotes in Mississippi. You can quickly learn how much insurance will cost you by spending a few minutes online. Once you enter in a few details, you can get side by side comparisons to make a decision.