Cheap Car Insurance Quotes Minnesota – MN
Simply put, Minnesota drivers must have taken the steps to maintain financial responsibility for their vehicles in case they ever cause an accident. This means that each person hurt in a car collision must have the recourse to file a claim with the at-fault person’s auto insurance company. Those with damaged property need to have this option as well.
No-Fault Laws in the State of Minnesota
Because Minnesota is a no-fault state, it also requires that its drivers auto insurance companies take financial responsibility for the bodily injuries of their policyholders, the drivers of these insured vehicles and the passengers if they have medical expenses due to the collision. The company must also pay medical expenses for these people if the vehicle they are riding in is hit by an uninsured or underinsured motorist.
Required Auto Insurance Coverage and Minnesota’s Limits
Minnesota limits the amount that its auto insurance companies must sell in its mandatory auto insurance packages. However, if the applicants qualify, they may be able to increase the following limits:
• One person injured is entitled to receive $30,000 for bodily injuries
• If two or more people are injured, they are entitled to $60,000 total
• The company is responsible for paying $10,000 for all property damages
• Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance in the amount of $40,000 for one person’s economic losses with$20,000 for medical bills and $20,000 for lost wages
• Underinsured motorist coverage in the amount of $25,000 for one person and $50,000 for all those injured after the PIP insurance runs out
• Uninsured motorist coverage in the amount of $25,000 for one person and $50,000 for all those injured after the PIP insurance runs out
Insurance for Rental Vehicles
Minnesota has specific rules regarding rental vehicles. According to the law, when Minnesota drivers rent a vehicle, their property damage liability coverage must contain $35,000 for repair or replacement of the vehicle. The policy must not contain a deductible for the renter to pay and it must inform the renter that this coverage has been included in the policy. It must also let these drivers know that they are not required to purchase collision coverage because of the existing insurance on their policies.
Minnesota Laws and Exclusions
If one or more people in a household have particularly negative driving records, the main policyholders will not be able to exclude them from the policy. If they are going to ever drive the insured vehicle, they must be named on Minnesota auto insurance policies. Failing to add these people will cause the auto insurance company to cancel the policy when they discover that someone in the household has been driving the vehicle uninsured.
Driving Uninsured in Minnesota
Everyone who drives a vehicle must be properly insured. Car owners must not allow any uninsured person to drive their vehicles or else they will face the consequences of this action. The penalties for driving uninsured are –
• A fine of $200 to $1,000
• A maximum 90-day jail sentence in addition to or in place of the fine for the first offense
• A fine of $200 to $3,000
• A maximum 365-day jail sentence for a second offense that occurs within 10 years
Being convicted of a first offense for driving uninsured qualifies as a misdemeanor. The second offense is a gross misdemeanor. A gross misdemeanor is considered to be between a misdemeanor and a felony in severity, and it does not cause people to suffer the same serious difficulties that a felony does. Minnesota drivers also have the possibility of losing their licenses to suspension or revocation in this circumstance.
Minnesota drivers must have extensive auto insurance coverage that can bring their rates up to uncomfortable levels but they will be introduced to discount insurance quotes in Minnesota on this website that can make this necessary expense much less painful for them.