Cheap Car Insurance Quotes in Georgia – GE
The adage “knowledge is power” always proves true, especially when shopping for discount insurance quotes in Georgia. Buyers searching out a new auto policy, for example, typically find themselves bombarded with a plethora of coverage options and premiums. The more a buyer understands state insurance laws and minimum requirements, the easier it becomes for the buyer to compare quotes and secure the best policy to meet their needs.
Liability vs. Full Coverage
Drivers typically have two options when it comes to auto insurance in Georgia. Drivers can opt for liability only or for full coverage insurance. Most states, including Georgia, require vehicles driven on public roadways to carry minimum liability insurance coverage. Liability insurance pays compensation for damages and injuries caused to other persons or property, as a direct result of an insured driver’s actions. Liability coverage differs from full coverage in that liability only pays compensation for losses to others, whereas full coverage also pays losses and/or injuries suffered by the insured.
Georgia’s Minimum Coverage Requirement
In Georgia, the law requires only liability coverage for property damage and bodily injury. Options such as comprehensive, collision, or uninsured motorist coverage are not required to meet Georgia’s minimum insurance requirements. Specifically, Georgia state law requires every driver to carry a minimum of $25,000/$50,000 for bodily injury and $25,000 for property damage. In other words, if law enforcement deems the insured driver at-fault in an accident, the driver’s insurance policy must cover the costs associated with property damage up to $25,000 and bodily injury up to $25,000 per person or $50,000 per accident.
Vehicles Requiring Insurance Coverage in Georgia
Not all motorized vehicles require insurance coverage in Georgia. According to the Georgia Department of Revenue, any vehicle requiring registration is also required to carry liability insurance coverage before driving it on public roadways. If a vehicle is exempt from registration, it is typically exempt from state minimum insurance requirements as well. For example, mopeds under 50cc, all-terrain vehicles, off-road vehicles, golf or other motorized carts, and some farm equipment are exempt from registration in the state of Georgia. As such, these vehicles typically do not require liability insurance. Motorcycles, mopeds or scooters over 50cc, cars, passenger trucks and commercial transport vehicles require both registration with the Department of Motor Vehicle Services and minimum liability coverage.
GEICS Database Requirements
Effective February 2003, Georgia amended Title 40 laws governing proof of insurance coverage. A Proof of Insurance Card is no longer considered legal proof of valid coverage in the state of Georgia. With the exception of certain fleet and self-insured vehicles, or vehicles registered under the International Registration Plan, all insurance providers must submit and maintain current insurance information for all vehicles registered and insured in Georgia. This information transmits to the Georgia Electronic Insurance Compliance System (GEICS) database.
Before registering a new vehicle or renewing registration on an existing vehicle, insurance information for said vehicle must show in the GEICS. Department of Motor Vehicle personnel search the database via the vehicle’s VIN number to verify minimum coverage prior to issuance of license plates. Likewise, the GEICS database is available to law enforcement. By searching the vehicle’s license plate number, law enforcement officers can instantly obtain current insurance status on any registered vehicle.
Penalties for Driving Uninsured
Shopping for discount insurance quotes in Georgia has more advantages than simply saving a buyer money. Getting and keeping valid insurance that meets state requirements also prevents steep penalties for driving uninsured. In the state of Georgia, a lapse in coverage of more than 10 days results in license suspension, registration suspension, a lapse in coverage fine and a steep reinstatement fee. These penalties are incurred even if the vehicle remains parked or otherwise off public roadways. In cases where a driver is convicted of operating a motorized vehicle on public roadways without insurance, the penalties are far greater, including additional fines and penalties of up to $1,000.