Cheap Insurance Quotes in Delaware – DE
In a tort state such as Delaware, drivers that injure other people with their vehicles are charged with paying those victims’ medical bills. If any property is damaged, the repair bills will be added to the medical costs. These expenses can be exorbitantly costly for most people, so Delaware requires that its drivers purchase liability insurance to cover these costs.
Auto Insurance Is the Only Choice in Delaware
Before Delaware drivers will be able to register their vehicles and be legally able to drive on public roads, they must present proof that they have liability insurance. The only way that Delaware allows its drivers to show that they can pay the medical and repair bills is to purchase auto insurance coverage.
Required Coverage and the Limits
Delaware requires that its drivers purchase three types of auto insurance coverage: bodily injury liability, property damage liability and Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance. Every auto insurance company in Delaware must sell these three types of coverage, and they must sell it in at least the state’s limited amounts:
• Bodily injury liability for the medical bills of one person – $15,000
• Bodily injury liability for medical expenses for all those injured – $30,000
• Property damage liability for all those with damaged property – $10,000
• PIP insurance is also for medical expenses and must be in the amount of $15,000 for one person and $30,000 for all injured in the collision
The Tort Add-On State
PIP insurance is a type of insurance that is required in no-fault states and not ordinarily in tort states but Delaware is what is referred to as a tort add-on state. The fact that Delaware is a tort state means that victims of car collisions may sue the at-fault drivers for additional payment of medical expenses, lost wages or pain and suffering. They will be entitled to PIP insurance benefits if they file a lawsuit and win in court.
Uninsured and Underinsured Drivers
Drivers can be assured that some people are driving in the state without auto insurance. Even these people will be given financial responsibility for their victims’ injuries, and the victims will be able to sue these at-fault motorists. Sometimes, these people have no ability to pay their victims’ medical bills. Others do have insurance in the minimum amounts, for example, but this coverage may be insufficient to cover all of the bills.
The state of Delaware does not require that people purchase insurance to cover their medical expenses against the possibility of being hit by an uninsured or underinsured driver. It does, however, require each auto insurance company to give its clients the option of purchasing it. This does not mean that they must sell this coverage to each person who asks for it. If they are qualified to purchase it, auto insurance clients will be able to do so.
Severe Fines for Driving Uninsured
Those who decide that they are not going to follow Delaware’s insurance laws and purchase insurance coverage will have very hefty fines to pay. Other states have fines in the low hundreds but in Delaware a first offense will require payment of a fine between $1,500 and $2,000. They will also receive a suspension on their licenses that will last six months.
A second offense increases the fine even higher to between $3,000 and $4,000. Their licenses as well as their registrations will be suspended for another six months. The DMV will always know when its drivers have allowed their insurance policies to lapse or the insurance company has canceled the coverage because auto insurance companies are required to inform the DMV that this has occurred.
Discount Insurance Quotes in Delaware
Receiving discount insurance quotes in Delaware is the more affordable option to being required to pay fines in the thousands of dollars for being uninsured. Obtain these quotes easily right now on this website.