Cheap Insurance Quotes in Connecticut – CT
In order to register a vehicle in Connecticut, car owners have to purchase liability insurance. They will not be able to self-insure or make a deposit with the Treasurer as they can in other states. Their only choice is to find an insurance company and apply for the insurance coverage required in Connecticut.
Auto Insurance Companies Must Inform the DMV when Policies Expire
Generally, drivers pay for their insurance policies on a monthly, quarterly, semi-yearly or a yearly basis and then the policies expire. If they miss a payment, the coverage will no longer be valid. If when they receive the notice in the mail that their coverage is about to expire for the year and they do not renew, they will be left uninsured. In these cases, the insurance company is required to report the fact that their former clients are currently uninsured to the DMV.
The DMV’s Response to Uninsured Drivers
Driving uninsured will mean that the DMV will send a letter to the uninsured drivers offering them a warning. These drivers will receive instructions on what they need to do to comply with Connecticut’s insurance laws. After receiving this letter, uninsured drivers will need to do the following within 30 days:
1. Purchase the required coverage
2. Sign the Consent Agreement in which they agree to maintain their insurance coverage while their cars are registered or else accept further consequences
3. Pay the $200 fine
A Non-Response within 30 Days
Those who do not respond within the allotted time will receive further notice from the DMV. They will be given a hearing date on which it could be decided that their registrations will be suspended. If this were to occur, these drivers will not be able to renew their registrations on their current vehicles or register any other vehicle. If they would like to resume their driving privileges, they will have to purchase insurance coverage and pay their fines.
Liability Coverage Required in Connecticut
The reason Connecticut drivers need to purchase liability insurance is so that they can pay their victims’ medical bills and have their property repaired if they cause an accident. In Connecticut, this means that their insurance packages will contain bodily injury liability in the amount of $$20,000 to cover one person’s medical expenses. Two or more people may need to file a claim for one accident, and they will be entitled to receive a total of $40,000. The limit for the property damage liability that will cover any property repair bills is $10,000.
The Requirements for Uninsured Motorist Coverage
Some people do resist purchasing the required coverage and drive along the roads anyway. If these people cause an accident, they may not have the means to pay their victims’ medical bills. For this reason, Connecticut requires that drivers also purchase insurance for the time that they may be hit by an uninsured driver. They must have $20,000 for one person’s medical expenses and $40,000 total for everyone hurt in the collision.
The Requirements for Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Sometimes, an insured driver’s bodily injury liability does not cover everyone’s medical bills and someone is left without complete payment. For these instances, Connecticut requires that drivers purchase underinsured motorist bodily injury in the amount of $20,000 for one person’s medical bills and $40,000 for everyone who was injured in one accident.
If the limits on uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage are too low, Connecticut insurance companies may increase these limits by as much as $20,000 and $40,000 if the applicants qualify.
In order to meet all of the insurance requirements and follow all of the laws, drivers need to obtain their discount insurance quotes in Connecticut from this website. They will receive offers from several Connecticut companies for comparison purposes and in this manner find the best rates.